Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

Designing Regenerative Cultures by Daniel Christian Wahl

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Saving the World May Not Be So Easy

Eden 2.0: Climate Change and the Search for a 21st Century Myth by Alex Evans

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Myths for the Near Future

Six Steps Back to the Land: Why We Still Need Small Mixed Farms and Millions More Farmers by Colin Tudge

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Back to the Roots

Surviving the Future: Culture, Carnival and Capital in the Aftermath of the Market Economy by David Fleming

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > We Need To Cut Ourselves Some Slack

The Ash Tree: The Ash Tree by Oliver Rackham

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Last Word From a Woodland Sage

The Buddha in Me, The Buddha in You by David Hare

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > Chants Encounter

Who Really Feeds The World? The Failures of Agribusiness and the Promise of Agroecology: The Failures of Agribusiness and the Promise of Agroecology by Vandana Shiva

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > The Answer Lies In The Soil

Reviews from the past year

60 Degrees North: Around the World In Search of Home by Malachy Tallack

Issue 294 • January/February 2016 > Reviews > The Lonely Traveller

Adventures in the Anthropocene: A Journey into the Heart of the Planet We Made by Gaia Vince

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > End of An Epoch?

Antiquarian Remains of Jharkhand by Bulu Imam

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > Testament to the Past

Atmosphere of Hope: Solutions to the Climate Crisis by Tim Flannery

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > We Have The Means, But Not the Leaders

Climate Shock: The Economic Consequences of a Hotter Planet by Gernot Wagner & Martin L Weitzman

Issue 294 • January/February 2016 > Reviews > Camels In Canada

Coastlines: The Story of Our Shore by Patrick Barkham

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Where Two Worlds Meet

Common Ground by Rob Cowen

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > A Patch of Altered States

Creative Schools: Revolutionizing Education from the Ground Up by Ken Robinson

Issue 293 • November/December 2015 > Reviews > Creativity From the Ground Up

David Tress by Andrew Lambirth

Issue 294 • January/February 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > The Triumph of Art

Death and the Afterlife by Samuel Scheffler

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Dead Reckoning

Entertaining Judgment: The Afterlife in Popular Imagination by Greg Garrett

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Dead Reckoning

Degrowth : A vocabulary for a New Era by Giacomo D'Alisa, Federico Demaria & Giorgos Kallis (eds)

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > Words to Change the World

Don't Trust, Don't Fear, Don't Beg: The Extraordinary Story of the Arctic Thirty by Ben Stewart

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Provoking Putin

Ecozoa by Helen Moore

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Web Exclusives > Review > An Ecozoic Imagination

Experiencing Music - Restoring the Spiritual: Music as Well-being by June Boyce-Tilman

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > Music to Free the Soul

Field Notes from the Edge: Journeys through Britain's Secret Wilderness by Paul Evans

Issue 293 • November/December 2015 > Reviews > Poised Between Love and Fear

Foragers, Farmers and Fossil Fuels: How Human Values Evolve by Ian Morris

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > Slashing, Burning, Learning?

Galileo and the Art of Ageing Mindfully: Wisdom from the Night Skies by Adam Ford

Issue 293 • November/December 2015 > Reviews > Look to the Stars

Green Parties, Green Future: From Local Government to the International Stage by Per Gahrton

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > The Coming of the Greens

Mary Barratt: Poems & Paintings by Krystyna Szulecka

Issue 293 • November/December 2015 > Web Exclusives > Review > The Pearl of Great Price

More Human: Designing a World Where People Come First by Steve Hilton

Issue 294 • January/February 2016 > Reviews > Capitalism With A Conscience

My Hermitage: How the Hermitage Survived Tsars, Wars and Revolutions to Become the Greatest Museum in the World by Mikhail Piotrovsky

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > The Museum as Encyclopaedia

Natural Capital: Valuing the Planet : Valuing the Planet by Dieter Helm

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > The Price of Everything

Neil Young at London O2 Arena by Will Gethin

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > Cry for the Earth

Our Only World: Ten Essays by Wendell Berry

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Being Right Here, Right Now

Plankton: Wonders of a Drifting World by Christian Sardet

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > Get the Drift

Rainbow Dust: Three Centuries of Delight in British Butterflies by Peter Marren

Issue 294 • January/February 2016 > Reviews > Souls With Wings

Re-enchanting the Forest: Meaningful Ritual in a Secular World by William Ayot

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > Rites to Touch the Sacred

Shakespeare and Ecology: Shakespeare and Ecology by Horatio Morpurgo

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > One Touch of Nature

Spiritual Activism: Leadership as Service by Alastair McIntosh & Matt Carmichael

Issue 294 • January/February 2016 > Reviews > A Primer For Activism

Sugar by Ben Richardson

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > The Sweet Taste of Excess

The Anthropocene: The Human Era and How it Shapes Our Planet by Christian Schwägerl

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > End of An Epoch?

The Boiling River: Adventures and Discovery in the Amazon by Andrés Ruzo

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > Getting Into Hot Waters

The Buddha on Wall Street: What's Wrong with Capitalism and What We Can Do about It by Vaddhaka Linn

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > There Are Alternatives

The Cabaret of Plants: Botany and the Imagination by Richard Mabey

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > Putting Plants in their Proper Place

The Cultural Lives of Whales and Dolphins by Hal Whitehead and Luke Rendell

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > Sea Creatures, Sea Cultures?

The Globalization of Inequality by Francois Bourguignon

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Coming Together, Drifting Apart

The Invention of Nature: The Adventures of Alexander von Humboldt - The Lost Hero of Science by Andrea Wulf

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > The Man Who Discovered the World

The Jeweled Highway: On the Quest for a Life of Meaning by Ralph White

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > A Long and Winding Road

The Man Who Made Things out of Trees: The Man Who Made Things out of Trees by Robert Penn

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > Going With the Grain

The Most Good You Can Do: How Effective Altruism Is Changing Ideas About Living Ethically by Peter Singer

Issue 294 • January/February 2016 > Reviews > Getting Better At Doing Good

The Moth Snowstorm: Nature and Joy by Michael McCarthy

Issue 293 • November/December 2015 > Reviews > The Power and Beauty of Joy

The Planet Remade: How Geoengineering Could Change the World by Oliver Morton

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Take Care, Not Control, of Our Planet

The Saffron Road: A Journey with Buddha's Daughters by Christine Toomey

Issue 293 • November/December 2015 > Reviews > A Search for the Life of Meaning

The White Road: A Pilgrimage of Sorts by Edmund de Waal

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > Feats of Clay

Time, Light and the Dice of Creation: Through Paradox in Physics to a New Order by Philip Franses

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > Through Paradox To New Paradigm

Toms River by Dan Fagin

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > Toxic Legacies

What Nature Does for Britain by Tony Juniper

Issue 292 • September/October 2015 > Reviews > The Price of Everything

Why Are We Waiting? : The Logic, Urgency, and Promise of Tackling Climate Change by Nicholas Stern

Issue 293 • November/December 2015 > Reviews > Stern Words and Vision

Go to older reviews.

The Resurgence Trust is an educational charity that publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine, Resurgence.org and the Ecologist.org to promote ecological sustainability, social justice and spiritual values. Read our vision statement

© The Resurgence Trust | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Registration & Login Help | Sitemap | Contact Us

The Resurgence Trust publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine. Registered Charity Number: 1120414