Support Resurgence now Buy this issue: 288

Article availability

Free to view

Free to view for E-members

Not available to view

Reprint permissions

My Resurgence

Register for a free copy

Related Pages

RDM Revival

Artists Project Earth New Album. Help us to help them...

Green Books

Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

A Philosophy of Walking by Frédéric Gros

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > Feet First

A Rough Ride to the Future by James Lovelock

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > The Prophet of Gaia

Farmageddon: The True Cost of Cheap Meat by Philip Lymbery & Isabel Oakeshott

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > Speaking Up For Fish and Bees

H is for Hawk by Helen MacDonald

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > Hawk on the Wild Side

Proteus and the Magician: The Letters of Henry Miller and John Cowper Powys by Jacqueline Peltier (ed)

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > Wise Old Codgers

The Soil Will Save Us: How Scientists, Farmers, and Foodies Are Healing the Soil to Save the Planet by Kristin Ohlson

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > The Answer Lies in the Soil

The Unselfish Spirit: Human Evolution in a Time of Global Crisis by Mick Collins

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Web Exclusives > Review > Doing - with consciousness

Think Like a Commoner: A Short Introduction to the Life of the Commons by David Bollier

Issue 288 • January/February 2015 > Reviews > Shared Wealth Need Not Be Lost

Reviews from the past year

A Complexity Approach to Sustainability: Theory and Application by Angela Espinosa & Jon Walker

Issue 282 • January/February 2014 > Reviews > Decentralised Democracy

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability by Karen Christensen

Issue 283 • March/April 2014 > Reviews > Moving the World

Beyond Economics and Ecology: The Radical Thought of Ivan Illich by Sajay Samuel (ed)

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > Excavating Buried Assumptions

Bleating Hearts: The Hidden World of Animal Suffering by Mark Hawthorne

Issue 283 • March/April 2014 > Reviews > A Moral Issue

Breaking New Ground: A Personal History by Lester R Brown

Issue 284 • May/June 2014 > Reviews > Being Lester Brown

Capital in the Twenty-first Century by Thomas Piketty

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > The Wealth of the Few

Climate-challenged Society by John S Dryzek

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Climate Questions and Rather Harder Answers

Consolations of the Forest: Alone in a Cabin in the Middle Taiga by Sylvain Tesson

Issue 283 • March/April 2014 > Reviews > Purity of Solitude

Countdown: Our Last, Best Hope for a Future on Earth? by Alan Weisman

Issue 285 • July/August 2014 > Reviews > What Chance Humanity?

Cow Save the Planet: And Other Improbable Ways of Restoring Soil to Heal the Earth by Judith D Schwartz

Issue 285 • July/August 2014 > Reviews > Return to the Soil

Cycling After Thomas and the English by David Caddy

Issue 282 • January/February 2014 > Reviews > A Poet's Pilgrim

Earth User's Guide to Teaching Permaculture by Rosemary Morrow

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Back to the Roots

Ecology, Economy: Quest for a Socially Informed Connection by Felix Padel, Ajay Dandekar and Jeemol Unni

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Indian Predicament

Edible Cities: Urban Permaculture for Gardens, Yards, Balconies, Rooftops and Beyond by Judith Anger | Immo Fiebrig | Martin Schnyder

Issue 285 • July/August 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Edible Cities of the Future

El Anatsui: Art and Life by Susan Vogel

Issue 285 • July/August 2014 > Reviews > Cloths of Gold

Hearing Our Calling: Rethinking Work and the Workplace by Gill Coombs

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Redefining and Revaluing Our Work

Hidden Beauty of the Commonplace: A Nature Mystic's Reflections upon the True Meaning of Freedom by Philip Pegler

Issue 283 • March/April 2014 > Reviews > Another Language

Himalayan Sound Revelations: The Complete Singing Bowl Book by Frank Perry

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Bowling With Angels

Holistic Science Journal: Parallel Time by Philip Franses (ed)

Issue 285 • July/August 2014 > Reviews > The Mystery of Time

Holonomics: Business Where People and Planet Matter by Simon Robinson & Maria Moraes Robinson

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Following Nature's Systems

Home Country by Richard Mabey

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Senses of Place

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai

Issue 285 • July/August 2014 > Reviews > Free as a Bird

I Spend, Therefore I Am: The True Cost of Economics by Philip Roscoe

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > A Dismal Science, Settled By Spreadsheets

In Defence of Life: Essays on a Radical Reworking of Green Wisdom by Julian Day Rose

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > A Rebellion of the Spirit

Jungle Trees of Central India: A Field Guide for Tree Spotters by Pradip Krishen

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Fresh Leaves From the Jungle

Meadowland: The Private Life of an English Field by John Lewis-Stempel

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Senses of Place

Mindfulness and the Natural World: Bringing our Awareness Back to Nature by Claire Thompson

Issue 284 • May/June 2014 > Reviews > Seeing Nature

Monte León National Park by Tom Butler (ed)

Issue 283 • March/April 2014 > Reviews > Staggering Beauty

Mystic Chemist: The Life of Albert Hofmann and His Discovery of LSD by Dieter Hagenback & Lucius Werthmüller

Issue 284 • May/June 2014 > Reviews > Beauty of Creation

On Silbury Hill by Adam Thorpe

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Senses of Place

One Mind: How Our Individual Mind is Part of a Greater Consciousness and Why it Matters by Larry Dossey

Issue 284 • May/June 2014 > Reviews > A Mind-to-Mind View of Life

Out of This Earth: East India Adivasis and the Aluminium Cartel by Felix Padel & Samarendra Das

Issue 282 • January/February 2014 > Reviews > A Bleak Picture

Paradise Lot: Two Plant Geeks, One-tenth of an Acre and the Making of an Edible Garden Oasis in the City by Eric Toensmeier | Jonathan Bates

Issue 285 • July/August 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Edible Cities of the Future

Revival and Resilience: Community Stories in China by Cheng Ying (Executive editor)

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > Forgotten Inheritance

Righteous Republic: The Political Foundations of Modern India by Ananya Vajpeyi

Issue 284 • May/June 2014 > Reviews > A Moral Purpose

So Far from Home: Lost and Found in Our Brave New World by Margaret J Wheatley

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > What Matters Is Now

Soil Lives!: A Biography of the Uncelebrated Earth Beneath Our Feet by Martin Wood

Issue 282 • January/February 2014 > Reviews > Healthy Soil

Soil, Soul, Society by Satish Kumar

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > A Trinity for Our Time

Spindrift: A Wilderness Pilgrimage at Sea by Peter Reason

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > The Living Sea

Spiritual Ecology: A Quiet Revolution by Leslie E Sponsel

Issue 282 • January/February 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Enduring Wisdom

Spiritual Ecology: The Cry of the Earth by Llewellyn Vaughan-Lee (ed)

Issue 285 • July/August 2014 > Reviews > A Sense of the Sacred

The Adventurous School: Vision, Community and Curriculum for Primary Education in the Twenty-first Century by Jane Reed (ed)

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > A New Vision of Learning

The Book of Barely Imagined Beings: A 21st-century Bestiary by Caspar Henderson

Issue 283 • March/April 2014 > Reviews > Wonder of Life

The Burning Answer: A User's Guide to the Solar Revolution by Keith Barnham

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > A Bright Solar Future

The Burning Ground by Roselle Angwin

Issue 284 • May/June 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Inner and Outer Landscapes

The Burning Question: We Can’t Burn Half the World’s Oil, Coal and Gas. So How Do We Quit? by Mike Berners-Lee and Duncan Clark

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > The Burning Question

The Energy of Nations: Risk Blindness and the Road to Ranaissance by Jeremy Leggett

Issue 284 • May/June 2014 > Reviews > A Frank Appraisal

The Falling Sky: Words of a Yanomami Shaman by Davi Kopenawa & Bruce Albert

Issue 284 • May/June 2014 > Reviews > Dreaming the Forest

The More Beautiful World Our Hearts Know is Possible by Charles Eisenstein

Issue 285 • July/August 2014 > Reviews > Depth of Vision

The New Sylva: A Discourse of Forest & Orchard Trees for the Twenty-First Century by Gabriel Hemery and Sarah Simblet

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > Trees of Enchantment

The Old Ways: A Journey on Foot by Robert Macfarlane

Issue 282 • January/February 2014 > Reviews > Landscape and the Human Heart

The Promise by Nicola Davies & Laura Carlin

Issue 283 • March/April 2014 > Reviews > A Message of Hope

The Shape of Green: Aesthetics, Ecology and Design by Lance Hosey

Issue 282 • January/February 2014 > Reviews > Beauty Can Save the Planet

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History by Elizabeth Kolbert

Issue 285 • July/August 2014 > Reviews > Tearing the Fabric of Life

The State Is Out of Date: We Can Do It Better by Gregory Sams

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > The State We're In

The Systems View of Life: A Unifying Vision by Fritjof Capra & Pier Luigi Luisi

Issue 284 • May/June 2014 > Reviews > The Systems View of Life

The Trouble with Billionaires: How the Super-Rich Hijacked the World (and How We Can Take It Back) by Linda McQuaig & Neil Brooks

Issue 282 • January/February 2014 > Reviews > Economic Democracy

The World We Made: Alex McKay's Story from 2050 by Jonathon Porritt

Issue 282 • January/February 2014 > Reviews > Saved By Technology?

The Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons, and the Eclipse of Capitalism by Jeremy Rifkin

Issue 286 • September/October 2014 > Reviews > Is Empathy the New Oil?

Turnaround Challenge: Business and the City of the Future by Michael Blowfield & Leo Johnson

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Web Exclusives > Review > Economies of the Future

Under the Green Wood: Picturing the British Tree from Constable to Kurt Jackson by Anne Anderson

Issue 282 • January/February 2014 > Reviews > Long Live Trees

Walking the Woods and the Water: In Patrick Leigh Fermor's Footsteps from the Hook of Holland to the Golden Horn by Nick Hunt

Issue 287 • November/December 2014 > Reviews > In Famous Footsteps

Go to older reviews.

Resurgence at the heart of earth, art and spirit