Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

Chagos: History – Exploration, Exploitation, Expulsion by Nigel Wenban-Smith and Marina Carter

Issue 304 • September/October 2017 > Web Exclusives > Review > Cast Away

Confessions of a Recovering Environmentalist by Paul Kingsnorth

Issue 304 • September/October 2017 > Reviews > In the Ending Are the Words

Existence: A Story by David Hinton

Issue 304 • September/October 2017 > Reviews > Landscape With A Vision

From the Deep Well : The Diaries of Pratale Farm by Etain Addey

Issue 304 • September/October 2017 > Reviews > Digging In

Human Scale Revisited : A New Look at the Classic Case for a Decentralist Future by Kirkpatrick Sale

Issue 304 • September/October 2017 > Reviews > Still Thinking Small

Personalities on the Plate: The Lives and Minds of Animals We Eat by Barbara J King

Issue 304 • September/October 2017 > Reviews > Sins and Omissions of the Flesh

Religion and Sustainable Agriculture: World Spiritual Traditions and Food Ethics by Todd LeVasseur, Pramod Parajuli, Norman Wirzba (eds)

Issue 304 • September/October 2017 > Reviews > Keeping Faith In Farming

Thank You For Being Late: An Optimist's Guide to Thriving in the Age of Accelerations by Thomas L Friedman

Issue 304 • September/October 2017 > Reviews > Time To Take Stock

Reviews from the past year

A Farewell to Ice: A Report From The Arctic by Peter Wadhams

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > An Iceman Turns Up The Heat

A Sea of Glass: Searching For the Blaschkas' Fragile Legacy in an Ocean of Risk by Drew Harvell

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > Through Glass, Brightly

A Utopia Like Any Other: Inside the Swedish Model by Dominic Hinde

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > Between Fiction and Reality

Action! A Cleric off the Leash by Colin Hodgetts

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > A Nonviolent Fighter For Rights

Adam Curle: Radical Peacemaker by Tom Woodhouse & John Paul Lederach (eds)

Issue 302 • May/June 2017 > Reviews > A Pioneering Professor For Peace

Ancient Futures by Helena Norberg-Hodge

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > Distant Voices Still Live, Warn and Inspire

Ancient Futures by Helena Norberg-Hodge

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Web Exclusives > Review > When Economic Growth Means Impoverishment

Animal (De)liberation: Should the Consumption of Animal Products Be Banned? by Jan Deckers

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Web Exclusives > Review > Be Kind To Our Kind

As in the Heart, So in the Earth: Reversing the Desertification of the Soul and the Soil by Pierre Rabhi

Issue 303 • July/August 2017 > Web Exclusives > Article > A Parable For Modern Life

Bread, Wine, Chocolate: The Slow Loss of Foods We Love by Simran Sethi

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Wake Up and Smell the Food Fraud

Chickenizing Farms & Food: Chickenizing Farms & Food: How Industrial Meat Production Endangers Workers, Animals, and Consumers by Ellen K Silbergeld

Issue 303 • July/August 2017 > Reviews > The True Cost of a Cheap Meal

Connect: How Companies Succeed by Engaging Radically with Society by John Browne, Robin Nuttall & Tommy Stadlen

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Still Spinning

Designing Regenerative Cultures by Daniel Christian Wahl

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Saving the World May Not Be So Easy

Driftfish: A Zoomorphic Anthology by Susan Richardon & James Roberts (eds)

Issue 302 • May/June 2017 > Web Exclusives > Review > Tides of Thought and Feeling

Eco-Homes: People, Place and Politics by Jenny Pickerill

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > Home Sweet Eco-Home

Eden 2.0: Climate Change and the Search for a 21st Century Myth by Alex Evans

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Myths for the Near Future

Elemental: An Arts and Ecology Reader by James Brady

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > A Book of Parts

Farming, Fascism and Ecology: A Life of Jorian Jenks by Philip M Coupland

Issue 303 • July/August 2017 > Reviews > On the Dark Side of the Land

Grass-Fed Nation: Getting Back the Food We Deserve by Graham Harvey

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > Evangelist of Grass

Greenpeace Captain: Bizarre Wanderings on the Rainbow Warrior by Peter Wilcox

Issue 302 • May/June 2017 > Reviews > Making Waves

Half-Earth: Our Planet's Fight For Life by Edward O Wilson

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Seeing the World Half Empty

How to Thrive in the Next Economy: Designing Tomorrow's World Today by Ed Mayo

Issue 303 • July/August 2017 > Reviews > Collector of Hope

Human Ecology: How Nature and Culture Shaped Our World by Frederick Steiner

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > Our Place in Space and Time

Ladders to Heaven: How Fig Trees Shaped Our History, Fed Our Imaginations and Can Enrich Our Future by Mike Shanahan

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > Why We Should Give A Fig

Love of Country: A Hebridean Journey by Madeleine Bunting

Issue 303 • July/August 2017 > Reviews > Living on the Edge

Missed Information: Better Information for Building a Wealthier, More Sustainable Future by David Sarokin | Jay Schulkin

Issue 303 • July/August 2017 > Reviews > The Facts That Matter

Peace Beyond Borders: How the EU Brought Peace to Europe and How Exporting it Would End Conflicts Around the World by Vijay Mehta

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > How Europe Turned From War

Poacher's Pilgrimage: An Island Journey by Alastair McIntosh

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > A Walk, and Talk, On The Wild Side

Postcapitalism: A Guide To Our Future by Paul Mason

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > The System is Broken. What's Next?

Progressive Protectionism: Taking Back Control by Colin Hines

Issue 302 • May/June 2017 > Reviews > Trading Places

Quentin Blake: In the Theatre of the Imagination - An Artist at Work by Ghislaine Kenyon

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Journeys With a Magical Healer

Remarkable Birds by Michael McCarthy

Issue 303 • July/August 2017 > Reviews > Beauty on the Wing

Six Facets of Light by Ann Wroe

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Walking Into Illumination

Six Steps Back to the Land: Why We Still Need Small Mixed Farms and Millions More Farmers by Colin Tudge

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Back to the Roots

Sorting the Beef from the Bull : The Science of Food Fraud Forensics by Richard Evershed & Nicola Temple

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Wake Up and Smell the Food Fraud

Surviving the Future: Culture, Carnival and Capital in the Aftermath of the Market Economy by David Fleming

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > We Need To Cut Ourselves Some Slack

The Abundance by Annie Dillard

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Living to the Full

The Alternative: Towards a New progressive Politics by Lisa Nandy, Caroline Lucas and Chris Bowers (eds)

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > Better Together?

The Apple Orchard: The Story of Our Most English Fruit by Pete Brown

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > A Chronicler To The Core

The Ash Tree: The Ash Tree by Oliver Rackham

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Last Word From a Woodland Sage

The Buddha in Me, The Buddha in You by David Hare

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > Chants Encounter

The Great Climate Robbery: How the Food System Drives Climate Change and What We Can Do about It by Henk Hobbelink

Issue 303 • July/August 2017 > Reviews > Our Food is Cooking the Planet

The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable by Amitav Ghosh

Issue 302 • May/June 2017 > Reviews > Wanted: A True Climate Fiction

The Switch: How Solar, Storage and New Tech Means Cheap Power for All by Chris Goodall

Issue 302 • May/June 2017 > Web Exclusives > Review > A Shiny Green Future

The World-Ending Fire: The Essential Wendell Berry by Wendell Berry

Issue 302 • May/June 2017 > Reviews > A Prophet In His Own Place

Water in Plain Sight Hope for a Thirsty World by Judith D Schwartz

Issue 302 • May/June 2017 > Reviews > Down To The Last Drop

What Have Plants Ever Done For Us? Western Civilization in Fifty Plants by Stephen Harris

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > Without Them, We're Dead

Who Really Feeds The World? The Failures of Agribusiness and the Promise of Agroecology: The Failures of Agribusiness and the Promise of Agroecology by Vandana Shiva

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > The Answer Lies In The Soil

Go to older reviews.

The Resurgence Trust is an educational charity that publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine, Resurgence.org and theEcologist.org to promote ecological sustainability, social justice and spiritual values. Read our vision statement

© The Resurgence Trust | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Registration & Login Help | Sitemap | Contact Us

The Resurgence Trust publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine. Registered Charity Number: 1120414