Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

A Sea of Glass: Searching For the Blaschkas' Fragile Legacy in an Ocean of Risk by Drew Harvell

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > Through Glass, Brightly

Action! A Cleric off the Leash by Colin Hodgetts

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > A Nonviolent Fighter For Rights

Animal (De)liberation: Should the Consumption of Animal Products Be Banned? by Jan Deckers

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Web Exclusives > Review > Be Kind To Our Kind

Eco-Homes: People, Place and Politics by Jenny Pickerill

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > Home Sweet Eco-Home

Human Ecology: How Nature and Culture Shaped Our World by Frederick Steiner

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > Our Place in Space and Time

Poacher's Pilgrimage: An Island Journey by Alastair McIntosh

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > A Walk, and Talk, On The Wild Side

Postcapitalism: A Guide To Our Future by Paul Mason

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > The System is Broken. What's Next?

The Alternative: Towards a New progressive Politics by Lisa Nandy, Caroline Lucas and Chris Bowers (eds)

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > Better Together?

What Have Plants Ever Done For Us? Western Civilization in Fifty Plants by Stephen Harris

Issue 301 • March/April 2017 > Reviews > Without Them, We're Dead

Reviews from the past year

A Farewell to Ice: A Report From The Arctic by Peter Wadhams

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > An Iceman Turns Up The Heat

A Utopia Like Any Other: Inside the Swedish Model by Dominic Hinde

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > Between Fiction and Reality

Ancient Futures by Helena Norberg-Hodge

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > Distant Voices Still Live, Warn and Inspire

Ancient Futures by Helena Norberg-Hodge

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Web Exclusives > Review > When Economic Growth Means Impoverishment

Antiquarian Remains of Jharkhand by Bulu Imam

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > Testament to the Past

Atmosphere of Hope: Solutions to the Climate Crisis by Tim Flannery

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > We Have The Means, But Not the Leaders

Bread, Wine, Chocolate: The Slow Loss of Foods We Love by Simran Sethi

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Wake Up and Smell the Food Fraud

Coastlines: The Story of Our Shore by Patrick Barkham

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Where Two Worlds Meet

Common Ground by Rob Cowen

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > A Patch of Altered States

Connect: How Companies Succeed by Engaging Radically with Society by John Browne, Robin Nuttall & Tommy Stadlen

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Still Spinning

Death and the Afterlife by Samuel Scheffler

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Dead Reckoning

Entertaining Judgment: The Afterlife in Popular Imagination by Greg Garrett

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Dead Reckoning

Designing Regenerative Cultures by Daniel Christian Wahl

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Saving the World May Not Be So Easy

Don't Trust, Don't Fear, Don't Beg: The Extraordinary Story of the Arctic Thirty by Ben Stewart

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Provoking Putin

Eden 2.0: Climate Change and the Search for a 21st Century Myth by Alex Evans

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Myths for the Near Future

Elemental: An Arts and Ecology Reader by James Brady

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > A Book of Parts

Experiencing Music - Restoring the Spiritual: Music as Well-being by June Boyce-Tilman

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > Music to Free the Soul

Foragers, Farmers and Fossil Fuels: How Human Values Evolve by Ian Morris

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > Slashing, Burning, Learning?

Grass-Fed Nation: Getting Back the Food We Deserve by Graham Harvey

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > Evangelist of Grass

Green Parties, Green Future: From Local Government to the International Stage by Per Gahrton

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > The Coming of the Greens

Half-Earth: Our Planet's Fight For Life by Edward O Wilson

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Seeing the World Half Empty

Ladders to Heaven: How Fig Trees Shaped Our History, Fed Our Imaginations and Can Enrich Our Future by Mike Shanahan

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > Why We Should Give A Fig

My Hermitage: How the Hermitage Survived Tsars, Wars and Revolutions to Become the Greatest Museum in the World by Mikhail Piotrovsky

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > The Museum as Encyclopaedia

Neil Young at London O2 Arena by Will Gethin

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > Cry for the Earth

Our Only World: Ten Essays by Wendell Berry

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Being Right Here, Right Now

Peace Beyond Borders: How the EU Brought Peace to Europe and How Exporting it Would End Conflicts Around the World by Vijay Mehta

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > How Europe Turned From War

Quentin Blake: In the Theatre of the Imagination - An Artist at Work by Ghislaine Kenyon

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Journeys With a Magical Healer

Re-enchanting the Forest: Meaningful Ritual in a Secular World by William Ayot

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > Rites to Touch the Sacred

Shakespeare and Ecology: Shakespeare and Ecology by Horatio Morpurgo

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > One Touch of Nature

Six Facets of Light by Ann Wroe

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Walking Into Illumination

Six Steps Back to the Land: Why We Still Need Small Mixed Farms and Millions More Farmers by Colin Tudge

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Back to the Roots

Sorting the Beef from the Bull : The Science of Food Fraud Forensics by Richard Evershed & Nicola Temple

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Wake Up and Smell the Food Fraud

Sugar by Ben Richardson

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > The Sweet Taste of Excess

Surviving the Future: Culture, Carnival and Capital in the Aftermath of the Market Economy by David Fleming

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > We Need To Cut Ourselves Some Slack

The Abundance by Annie Dillard

Issue 299 • November/December 2016 > Reviews > Living to the Full

The Apple Orchard: The Story of Our Most English Fruit by Pete Brown

Issue 300 • January/February 2017 > Reviews > A Chronicler To The Core

The Ash Tree: The Ash Tree by Oliver Rackham

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > Last Word From a Woodland Sage

The Boiling River: Adventures and Discovery in the Amazon by Andrés Ruzo

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > Getting Into Hot Waters

The Buddha in Me, The Buddha in You by David Hare

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Web Exclusives > Review > Chants Encounter

The Cabaret of Plants: Botany and the Imagination by Richard Mabey

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > Putting Plants in their Proper Place

The Globalization of Inequality by Francois Bourguignon

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Coming Together, Drifting Apart

The Invention of Nature: The Adventures of Alexander von Humboldt - The Lost Hero of Science by Andrea Wulf

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > The Man Who Discovered the World

The Jeweled Highway: On the Quest for a Life of Meaning by Ralph White

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > A Long and Winding Road

The Man Who Made Things out of Trees: The Man Who Made Things out of Trees by Robert Penn

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > Going With the Grain

The Planet Remade: How Geoengineering Could Change the World by Oliver Morton

Issue 295 • March/April 2016 > Reviews > Take Care, Not Control, of Our Planet

The White Road: A Pilgrimage of Sorts by Edmund de Waal

Issue 296 • May/June 2016 > Reviews > Feats of Clay

Time, Light and the Dice of Creation: Through Paradox in Physics to a New Order by Philip Franses

Issue 297 • July/August 2016 > Reviews > Through Paradox To New Paradigm

Who Really Feeds The World? The Failures of Agribusiness and the Promise of Agroecology: The Failures of Agribusiness and the Promise of Agroecology by Vandana Shiva

Issue 298 • September/October 2016 > Reviews > The Answer Lies In The Soil

Go to older reviews.

The Resurgence Trust is an educational charity that publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine, Resurgence.org and the Ecologist.org to promote ecological sustainability, social justice and spiritual values. Read our vision statement

© The Resurgence Trust | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Registration & Login Help | Sitemap | Contact Us

The Resurgence Trust publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine. Registered Charity Number: 1120414