Share this page

Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

Key

Free for all to view

Free for members to view

Not available

Thunderstone: A True Story of Losing One Home and Discovering Another: Thunderstone by Nancy Campbell

Issue 335 • November/December 2022 > Reviews > A Golden Thread of Community

Citizens: Why the Key to Fixing Everything Is All of Us by Jon Alexander

Issue 335 • November/December 2022 > Reviews > Helping Ourselves

Movement: How to Take Back Our Streets and Transform Our Lives by Thalia Verkade and Marco te Brömmelstroet

Issue 335 • November/December 2022 > Reviews > The Road Ahead

Otherlands: A World in the Making by Thomas Halliday

Issue 335 • November/December 2022 > Reviews > Extinction and Rebirth

Riding Out: A Journey of Love, Loss and New Beginnings by Simon Parker

Issue 335 • November/December 2022 > Reviews > A Golden Thread of Community

Sounds Wild and Broken by David George Haskell

Issue 335 • November/December 2022 > Reviews > Lost Frequencies

The Oil Machine by Emma Davie

Issue 335 • November/December 2022 > Reviews > How Oil Took Over Our Lives

The Restorative Spirit: Illuminating the Soul in a Time of Global Awakening by Mick Collins

Issue 335 • November/December 2022 > Reviews > Pilgrimage of the Heart

Reviews from the past year

A Bigger Picture: My Flight to Bring a New African Voice to the Climate Crisis by Vanessa Nakate

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Amplifying the Voices of African Activists

After the Ithaca: Journeys in Deep Time by Charlotte Du Cann

Issue 334 • September/October 2022 > Reviews > Hero's Journey

Agroecology and Regenerative Agriculture: Navdanya's Research on Sustainable Solutions for Hunger, Poverty, and Climate Change by Vandana Shiva

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > Diversity on the Farm

Anthropocene: Climate Change, Contagion, Consolation by Sudeep Sen

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Poetry in the Time of Covid

Around the World in 80 Plants by Jonathan Drori

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Plant Portraits

Beak, Tooth and Claw: Living with Predators in Britain by Mary Colwell

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Hunter and Hunted

Black Lion: Alive in the Wilderness by Sicelo Mbatha

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > Spirit Guide

Can Fixing Dinner Fix the Planet? by Jessica Fanzo

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Eating Together

Dawn of an Era of Well-being by Ervin László and Frederick Tsao

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > Separation is an Illusion

Eating to Extinction: The World's Rarest Foods and Why We Need to Save Them by Dan Saladino

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > Missing Meals

Flourish: Design Paradigms for Our Planetary Emergency by Sarah Ichioka and Michael Pawlyn

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Design for Life

Garments Without Guilt? : Global Labour Justice and Ethical Codes in Sri Lankan Apparels by Kanchana N Ruwanpura

Issue 334 • September/October 2022 > Reviews > Made in Sri Lanka

Go Big: How to Fix Our World by Ed Miliband

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Reimagining What's Possible

Half-Earth Socialism: A Plan to Save the Future from Extinction, Climate Change and Pandemics by Troy Vettese and Drew Pendergrass

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Planning for the Planet

How Compassion Can Transform Our Politics, Economy and Society by Matt Hawkins and Jennifer Nadel

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > The Power of Caring

Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations (Volumes 1-5) by Gavin van Horn, Robin Wall Kimmerer, John Hausdoerffer (eds.)

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > A Planetary Tangle of Relations

Landed Podcast by Farmerara Radio

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > Deep Digging on the Family Farm

Light Rains Sometimes Fall: A British Year Through Japan's 72 Seasons by Lev Parikian

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > A Year in Microseasons

Our Biggest Experiment: A History of the Climate Crisis by Alice Bell

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Beginning, Middle - and End?

Psychological Roots of the Climate Crisis by Sally Weintrobe

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > Colluding with Exceptionalism

Reading recommendations for the New Year by

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Good Books

Regenesis: Feeding the World Without Devouring the Planet by George Monbiot

Issue 334 • September/October 2022 > Reviews > Eat to Live

Riverwoods by SCOTLAND: The Big Picture

Issue 334 • September/October 2022 > Reviews > Fish Out of Water

Saving Us: A Climate Scientist's Case for Hope and Healing in a Divided World by Katharine Hayhoe

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > We Need to Talk

Seven Ways to Change the World: How to Fix the Most Pressing Problems We Face by Gordon Brown

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Reimagining What's Possible

Smoke Hole Sessions Podcast by Martin Shaw

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Stories by the Fire

Subtle Agroecologies: Farming with the Hidden Half of Nature by Julia Wright and Nicholas Parrott (eds)

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > The Invisible Dimension of Farming

The Atlas of Disappearing Places: Our Coasts and Oceans in the Climate Crisis by Christina Conklin and Marina Psaros

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Mapping the Future

The Bird-friendly City: Creating Safe Urban Habitats by Melanie Challenger

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Bird's-Eye View

The Book of Hope: A Survival Guide for an Endangered Planet by Jane Goodall and Douglas Abrams

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > A Force of Grace

The Boys Who Said NO!: Draft Resistance and the Vietnam War by Judith Ehrlich

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Hell No, We Won't Go

The Dawn of Everything: A New History of Humanity by David Graeber and David Wengrow

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > The Origins of Equality

The Disenchanted Earth: Reflections on Ecosocialism and Barbarism by Richard Seymour

Issue 334 • September/October 2022 > Reviews > An Ecological Awakening

The Entangled Activist: Learning to Recognise the Master's Tools by Anthea Lawson

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Out of Our Systems

The Fairy Tellers: A Journey into the Secret History of Fairy Tales by Nicholas Jubber

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > Telling Time

The First Astronomers: How Indigenous Elders Read the Stars by Duane Hamacher

Issue 334 • September/October 2022 > Reviews > Night Vision

The Meat Paradox by Rob Percival

Issue 334 • September/October 2022 > Reviews > The Price of Meat

The Nation of Plants: A Radical Manifesto for Humans by Stefano Mancuso

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > Planting Ideas

The Nutmeg's Curse: Parables for a Planet in Crisis by Amitav Ghosh

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > The Spice of Life

The Physics of Climate Change by Lawrence M Krauss

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > The Power of Science

The Rise of Ecofascism: Climate Change and the Far Right by Sam Moore and Alex Roberts

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > Fascism and Climate Crisis

The Sloth Lemur's Song: Madagascar from the Deep Past to the Uncertain Present by Alison Richard

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > A Love Song to Madagascar

The Treeline: The Last Forest and the Future of Life on Earth by Ben Rawlence

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Roots of Change

Three Podcasts with different world views by

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Listen Up!

We Have a Dream by Mya-Rose Craig

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > An Anthem for Climate Justice

Wir konnten auch anders: Eine kurze Geschichte der Nachhaltigkeit by Jane Riddiford

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Sustainability - Medieval Style

Go to older reviews.

The Resurgence Trust is an educational charity (Charity Number: 1120414) that publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine, Resurgence.org, ResurgenceEvents.org and the Ecologist.org to promote ecological sustainability, social justice and spiritual values.

Donate | Sign in | Help with my account and signing in

© The Resurgence Trust | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | GDPR | Sitemap | Contact Us