Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

Permaculture Design Companion: A Practical Workbook for Integrating People and Place by Jasmine Dale

Issue 315 • July/August 2019 > Reviews > Permaculture From the Heart

The Bright Sessions by Lauren Shippen

Issue 315 • July/August 2019 > Reviews > The Power of Vulnerability

The Enchanted Life: Unlocking the Magic of Everyday by Sharon Blackie

Issue 315 • July/August 2019 > Reviews > Finding 'extra' in ordinary

The Snow Leopard Project: And Other Adventures in Warzone Conservation by Alex Dehgan

Issue 315 • July/August 2019 > Reviews > Birdwatching With The Taliban

The Wild Remedy: How Nature Mends Us - A Diary by Emma Mitchell

Issue 315 • July/August 2019 > Reviews > High and Low Seasons

The World Made Otherwise: Sustaining Humanity in a Threatened World by Timonthy J Gorringe

Issue 315 • July/August 2019 > Reviews > Where We Can Go From Here

Underland: A Deep Time Journey by Robert MacFarlane

Issue 315 • July/August 2019 > Reviews > Future Fossils

ZEDlife: How to Build a Low-Carbon Society Today by Bill Dunster

Issue 315 • July/August 2019 > Reviews > Home Truths

Reviews from the past year

A review of the 'All Hail Kale' podcast by Tonic Productions

Issue 314 • May/June 2019 > Reviews > Happiness . . . it's a Gut Feeling

Becoming Animal by Huw Wahl

Issue 312 • January/February 2019 > Reviews > Where Human and Animal Meet

Birds in the Ancient World: Winged Words by Jeremy Mynott

Issue 310 • September/October 2018 > Reviews > A World Closer to Nature

Botanical Folk Tales of Britain and Ireland by Lisa Schneidau

Issue 310 • September/October 2018 > Reviews > Once Upon a Thyme

Building the Cycling City: The Dutch Blueprint for Urban Vitality by Melissa Bruntlett & Chris Brunlett

Issue 314 • May/June 2019 > Reviews > Power to the Pedal Pushers

Christina Rossetti: Poetry, Ecology, Faith by Lynne Wycherley

Issue 312 • January/February 2019 > Reviews > Tracing A Green Grace

Climate Justice: Hope, Resilience, and the Fight for a Sustainable Future by Mary Robinson

Issue 313 • March/April 2019 > Reviews > The Medium is the Message

Dear John: The Road to Pelindaba by Satish Kumar

Issue 312 • January/February 2019 > Reviews > An Unexpected Life Story

Dirt to Soil: One Family's Journey into Regenerative Agriculture by Sara Melendro

Issue 312 • January/February 2019 > Reviews > From the Ground Up

Down To Earth: Politics in the New Climatic Regime by Bruno Latour

Issue 310 • September/October 2018 > Reviews > New Politics For The Coming Crisis

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming by Paul Hawken

Issue 309 • July/August 2018 > Reviews > Shining New Light on Our Future

Eat Up! Food, Appetite and Eating What You Want by Ruby Tandoh

Issue 309 • July/August 2018 > Reviews > An Appetite for Connection

Education for Sustainability through Internationalisation by Neera Handa

Issue 314 • May/June 2019 > Web Exclusives > Review > To teach well, we must learn from each other 

Elegant Simplicity: The Art of Living Well by Satish Kumar

Issue 314 • May/June 2019 > Reviews > Why We Should Make Life Simple

England: Poems from a School by Kate Clanchy (ed)

Issue 313 • March/April 2019 > Reviews > Connecting Words

Environmental Pollution in China: What Everyone Needs to Know by Daniel K Gardner

Issue 314 • May/June 2019 > Reviews > An 'Ecological Civilisation'

Ghost Trees: Nature and People in a London Parish by Bob Gilbert

Issue 314 • May/June 2019 > Reviews > London's Ghosts: Past, Present and Future

How to See Nature by Paul Evans

Issue 313 • March/April 2019 > Web Exclusives > Review > Seeing Nature in a New Light

Mesquite: An Arboreal Love Affair by Gary Paul Nabhan

Issue 313 • March/April 2019 > Reviews > Roots of Love

More than Happiness: Buddhist and Stoic Wisdom for a Sceptical Age by Antonia Macaro

Issue 310 • September/October 2018 > Reviews > One Good Life, Two Systems

Morning: How to Make Time - A Manifesto by Allan Jenkins

Issue 309 • July/August 2018 > Reviews > A Morning Wake-Up Call

Our Place: Can We Save Britain's Wildlife Before It Is Too Late? by Mark Cocker

Issue 309 • July/August 2018 > Reviews > Our Vanishingly Pleasant Land

Owl Sense by Miriam Darlington

Issue 310 • September/October 2018 > Reviews > The Silence of Owls

Symbiotic Earth: How Lynn Margulis Rocked the Boat and Started a Scientific Revolution by John Feldman

Issue 313 • March/April 2019 > Reviews > We Are Ecosystems

Taming the Sun:: Innovations to Harness Solar Energy and Power the Planet by Varum Shivaram

Issue 309 • July/August 2018 > Reviews > Shining New Light on Our Future

The Book of Humans: The Story of How We Became Us by Adam Rutherford

Issue 313 • March/April 2019 > Reviews > Animals Who Act Like Gods

The Children's Fire: Heart Songs of a People by Mac Macartney

Issue 313 • March/April 2019 > Reviews > Firing the Imagination

The End of the End of the Earth by Jonathan Franzen

Issue 314 • May/June 2019 > Reviews > The Final Final Countdown

The Golden Thread: How Fabric Changed History by Kassia St Clair

Issue 313 • March/April 2019 > Reviews > Material World

The Growth Delusion by David Pilling

Issue 309 • July/August 2018 > Reviews > Growing Pains

The Home Place: Memoirs of a Colored Man's Love Affair with Nature by J Drew Lanham

Issue 310 • September/October 2018 > Reviews > Black and White and Green

The Land of the Brighton Line: A Field Guide to the Middle Sussex and South East Surrey Weald by David Bangs

Issue 314 • May/June 2019 > Reviews > Tools to Heal the Weald

The Light in the Dark: A Winter Journal by Jane MacNamee

Issue 312 • January/February 2019 > Reviews > Living In the Shadow of Winter

The New Silk Roads: The Present and Future of the World by Peter Frankopan

Issue 314 • May/June 2019 > Reviews > An 'Ecological Civilisation'

The Patterning Instinct: A Cultural History of Humanity's Search for Meaning by Jeremy Lent

Issue 309 • July/August 2018 > Reviews > Beating the System, Metaphorically

The Shock Doctrine of the Left by Graham Jones

Issue 310 • September/October 2018 > Reviews > New Politics For The Coming Crisis

The Wonderful Mr Willughby: The First True Ornithologist by Michael McCarthy

Issue 312 • January/February 2019 > Reviews > Order Out of Chaos

Wackersdforf by Horatio Morpurgo

Issue 312 • January/February 2019 > Reviews > Nuclear Reactor

What Are You Doing With Your Life? by Jiddu Krishnamurti

Issue 310 • September/October 2018 > Reviews > Why Don't We Change?

Go to older reviews.

Share this page

The Resurgence Trust is an educational charity that publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine, Resurgence.org and theEcologist.org to promote ecological sustainability, social justice and spiritual values. Read our vision statement

© The Resurgence Trust | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Registration & Login Help | Sitemap | Contact Us

The Resurgence Trust publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine. Registered Charity Number: 1120414