Share this page

Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

Key

Free for all to view

Free for members to view

Not available

A Small Farm Future: Making the Case for a Society Built Around Local Economies, Self-Provisioning, Agriculutural Diversity and a Shared Earth by Chris Smaje

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Seeds of Resilience

A Spell in the Wild: A Spell in the Wild: A Year (and Six Centuries) of Magic by Alice Tarbuck

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Magic for Strange Times

Competition is Killing Us: How Big Business is Harming Our Society and Planet - and What To Do About It by Michelle Meager

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > A Question of Power

How They Made Us Doubt Everything by Peter Pomerantsev

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Stalling for Profit

Islands of Abandonment: Life in the Post-human Landscape by Cal Flyn

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Brave New Future

The Cost of Free Shipping: Amazon in the Global Economy by Jake Alimahomed-Wilson and Ellen Reese

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Taking on an Empire

The Reindeer Chronicles: And Other Inspiring Stories of Working with Nature to Heal the Earth by Judith D Schwartz

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Brave New Future

Vesper Flights by Helen MacDonald

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > H is For Humanity

Reviews from the past year

A History of the World in 21 Women : A Personal Selection by Jenni Murray

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Herstory, Not History

A Wild Love for the World: Joanna Macy and the Work of Our Time by Stephanie Kaza (ed)

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > Celebrating a Great American Tradition

Amber Waves: The Extraordinary Biography of Wheat from Wild Grass to World Megacrop by Catherine Zabinski

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Grain of Truth

Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teaching of Plants by Robin Wall Kimmerer

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Between Science and Knowledge

Climate Psychology: On Indifference to Disaster by Paul Hoggett

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Out of The Comfort Zone

Communities of Hope: Discovering the Ecovillages of Europe by Diego Ruiz Hidalgo and Lou Salomon

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Ecovillage People

Dancing With Bees: A Journey Back to Nature by Brigit Strawbridge Howard

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Bee Inspired

Emperors, Admirals & Chimney Sweepers: The Weird and Wonderful Names of Butterflies and Moths by Peter Marren

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Rejoice in Insects

Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures by Merlin Sheldrake

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Magic Mushrooms

Fifty Words for Snow by Nancy Campbell

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > The Last Word

Film Review: Swarm Season by Sarah Christman

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Migrations in Space

Film Review: Swarm Season by Sarah Christman

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Nature Cure

Free, Fair and Alice: The Insurgent Power of the Commons by David Bollier | Silke Helfrich

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > The Common Good

Free, Fair and Alice: The Insurgent Power of the Commons by David Bollier | Silke Helfrich

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > All is One

From What If to What Next: Podcast by Rob Hopkins

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > The Power of Reimagination

Gandhi the Organiser: How He Shaped a Nationwide Rebellion, India 1915-1922 by Bob Overy

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > How to Build a Movement

Global Hive: What the Bee Crisis Teaches Us about Building a Sustainable World by Horst Kornberger

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Ecolibrium

Global Hive: What the Bee Crisis Teaches Us about Building a Sustainable World by Horst Kornberger

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Voice of a Generation

Hope in Hell: A Decade to Confront the Climate Emergency by Jonathon Porritt

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > A Useful Guide to Hope

How to Save the World for Free by Natalie Fee

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Flying The Green Flag

Humankind: A Hopeful History by Rutger Bregman

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > A Kind of Hope

Imperial Mud: The Fight for the Fens by James Boyce

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Rising Up From History

Letters to the Earth: Writing to a Planet in Crisis by Jackie Morris

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Love Mail

Local Is Our Future: Steps to an Economics of Happiness: Steps to an Economics of Happiness by Helena Norberg-Hodge

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Interdependence is a Beautiful Thing

Losing Eden: Why Our Minds Need the Wild by Lucy Jones

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Nature Cure

Mothers of Invention: a podcast by Mary Robinson by Mary Robinson

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Man-made Crisis, Feminist Solutions

On Fire: The Burning Case for a Green New Deal by Naomi Klein

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > There Is Nothing We Cannot Achieve

Our House Is on Fire: Scenes of a Family and a Planet in Crisis: Our House Is on Fire: Scenes of a Family and a Planet in Crisis by Malena and Beata Ernman, Svante and Greta Thunberg

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Voice of a Generation

Pandemic Solidarity: Mutual Aid During the Covid-19 Crisis by Marina Sitrin & Colectiva Sembrar (eds.)

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > Kindness Amid Crisis

Riders on the Storm: The Climate Crisis and the Survival of Being by Alastair McIntosh

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > Guiding Spirit

Sand Talk: How Indigenous Thinking Can Save the World by Tyson Yunkaporta

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Between Science and Knowledge

See No Stranger: A Memoir and Manifesto of Revolutionary Love by Valarie Kaur

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > The Warrior Saint

Stone Talks by Alyson Hallett

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Listening to Rocks

Tales of Two Planets: Stories of Climate Change and Inequality in a Divided World by John Freeman

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Teaching Facts with New Stories

The Accidental Countryside: Hidden Havens for Britain's Wildlife by Stephen Moss

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > On The Verge

The Birds They Sang: Birds and People in Life and Art by Stanisław Łubieński

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Bird's Eye View

The Book of Trespass: Crossing the Lines That Divide Us by Nick Hayes

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Taking Back The Land

The Enchantment of the Long-haired Rat: A Rodent History of Australia by Tim Bonyhady

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Web Exclusives > Review > Of Rats and Men

The Fate of Food: What We'll Eat in a Bigger, Hotter, Smarter World by Amanda Little

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Food Futures

The Fossil Woman: A Life of Mary Anning by Tom Sharpe

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > Mary Anning Rocks

The Hidden World of the Fox by Adele Brand

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Essence of Fox

The Life of the White Mare: Sobriety and Enchantment by Etain Addey

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > The Meaning of Sacrifice

The Music of Time: Poetry in the Twentieth Century by Peter Abbs

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > In Defence of Eco-poetry

The Natural Health Service: What the Great Outdoors Can Do for Your Mind by Isabel Hardman

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Nature Cure

The Self Delusion: The Surprising Science of How We Are Connected and Why That Matters by Tom Oliver

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > All is One

The Wild Silence by Raynor Winn

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Beyond the Path

This Land is Our Land by Jedediah Purdy

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Reshaping The World

Under the Stars: A Journey into Light: A Journey into Light by Matt Gaw

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > A Quest for Darkness

Wanderland: A Search for Magic in the Landscape: Wanderland: A Search for Magic in the Landscape by Jini Reddy

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > The Spirit of the Land

We Made a Wildflower Meadow by Yvette Verner

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Leading the Field

White Riot by Rubika Shah

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Rock Against Racism

Go to older reviews.

The Resurgence Trust is an educational charity (Charity Number: 1120414) that publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine, Resurgence.org, ResurgenceEvents.org and theEcologist.org to promote ecological sustainability, social justice and spiritual values.

Donate | Sign in | Help with my account and signing in

© The Resurgence Trust | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | GDPR | Sitemap | Contact Us