Share this page

Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

Key

Free for all to view

Free for members to view

Not available

Agroecology and Regenerative Agriculture: Navdanya's Research on Sustainable Solutions for Hunger, Poverty, and Climate Change by Vandana Shiva

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > Diversity on the Farm

Black Lion: Alive in the Wilderness by Sicelo Mbatha

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > Spirit Guide

Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations (Volumes 1-5) by Gavin van Horn, Robin Wall Kimmerer, John Hausdoerffer (eds.)

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > A Planetary Tangle of Relations

The Nation of Plants: A Radical Manifesto for Humans by Stefano Mancuso

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > Planting Ideas

The Nutmeg's Curse: Parables for a Planet in Crisis by Amitav Ghosh

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > The Spice of Life

The Rise of Ecofascism: Climate Change and the Far Right by Sam Moore and Alex Roberts

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > Fascism and Climate Crisis

The Sloth Lemur's Song: Madagascar from the Deep Past to the Uncertain Present by Alison Richard

Issue 333 • July/August 2022 > Reviews > A Love Song to Madagascar

Reviews from the past year

A Bigger Picture: My Flight to Bring a New African Voice to the Climate Crisis by Vanessa Nakate

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Amplifying the Voices of African Activists

Anthropocene: Climate Change, Contagion, Consolation by Sudeep Sen

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Poetry in the Time of Covid

Around the World in 80 Plants by Jonathan Drori

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Plant Portraits

Beak, Tooth and Claw: Living with Predators in Britain by Mary Colwell

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Hunter and Hunted

Can Fixing Dinner Fix the Planet? by Jessica Fanzo

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Eating Together

Dawn of an Era of Well-being by Ervin László and Frederick Tsao

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > Separation is an Illusion

Earthed by Rebecca Schiller

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > Soil and Soul

Eating to Extinction: The World's Rarest Foods and Why We Need to Save Them by Dan Saladino

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > Missing Meals

Finding the Mother Tree: Uncovering the Wisdom and Intelligence of the Forest by Suzanne Simard

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > Talking Trees

Floodlines by Alice Bell

Issue 328 • September/October 2021 > Reviews > Up Close and Personal

Flourish: Design Paradigms for Our Planetary Emergency by Sarah Ichioka and Michael Pawlyn

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Design for Life

Gifts of Gravity and Light: A Nature Almanac for the 21st Century by Anita Roy and Pippa Marland (eds)

Issue 328 • September/October 2021 > The Arts > Climate Talks

Go Big: How to Fix Our World by Ed Miliband

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Reimagining What's Possible

Half-Earth Socialism: A Plan to Save the Future from Extinction, Climate Change and Pandemics by Troy Vettese and Drew Pendergrass

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Planning for the Planet

How Compassion Can Transform Our Politics, Economy and Society by Matt Hawkins and Jennifer Nadel

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > The Power of Caring

How to Avoid a Climate Disaster: The Solutions We Have and the Breakthroughs We Need by Bill Gates

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > A Billionaire's Take

How to Be Animal: A New History of What It Means to Be Human by Melanie Challenger

Issue 328 • September/October 2021 > Reviews > Eye of the Storm

How to Love Animals in a Human-Shaped World by Henry Mance

Issue 328 • September/October 2021 > Reviews > Rational Thinking

Land: How the Hunger for Ownership Shaped the Modern World by Simon Winchester

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > Lust for Land

Landed Podcast by Farmerara Radio

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > Deep Digging on the Family Farm

Learning to Lead Together: An Ecological and Community Approach by Jane Riddiford

Issue 328 • September/October 2021 > Reviews > Rebuilding Connection

Light Rains Sometimes Fall: A British Year Through Japan's 72 Seasons by Lev Parikian

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > A Year in Microseasons

Make It Happen: How to Be an Activist by Amika George

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > A Guide to Success

Our Biggest Experiment: A History of the Climate Crisis by Alice Bell

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Beginning, Middle - and End?

Parents for a Future by Rupert Read

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > A Big Ask

Psychological Roots of the Climate Crisis by Sally Weintrobe

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > Colluding with Exceptionalism

Reading recommendations for the New Year by

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Good Books

Saving Us: A Climate Scientist's Case for Hope and Healing in a Divided World by Katharine Hayhoe

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > We Need to Talk

Seven Ways to Change the World: How to Fix the Most Pressing Problems We Face by Gordon Brown

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Reimagining What's Possible

Smoke Hole Sessions Podcast by Martin Shaw

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Stories by the Fire

Subtle Agroecologies: Farming with the Hidden Half of Nature by Julia Wright and Nicholas Parrott (eds)

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > The Invisible Dimension of Farming

The Atlas of Disappearing Places: Our Coasts and Oceans in the Climate Crisis by Christina Conklin and Marina Psaros

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Mapping the Future

The Bird-friendly City: Creating Safe Urban Habitats by Melanie Challenger

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Bird's-Eye View

The Book of Hope: A Survival Guide for an Endangered Planet by Jane Goodall and Douglas Abrams

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > A Force of Grace

The Boys Who Said NO!: Draft Resistance and the Vietnam War by Judith Ehrlich

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Hell No, We Won't Go

The Care Crisis: What Caused It and How Can We End It? by Emma Dowling

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > Care Under Capitalism

The Dawn of Everything: A New History of Humanity by David Graeber and David Wengrow

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > The Origins of Equality

The Entangled Activist: Learning to Recognise the Master's Tools by Anthea Lawson

Issue 332 • May/June 2022 > Reviews > Out of Our Systems

The Eternal Season: Ghosts of Summers Past, Present and Future by Stephen Rutt

Issue 328 • September/October 2021 > The Arts > Climate Talks

The Fairy Tellers: A Journey into the Secret History of Fairy Tales by Nicholas Jubber

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > Telling Time

The Physics of Climate Change by Lawrence M Krauss

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > The Power of Science

The Treeline: The Last Forest and the Future of Life on Earth by Ben Rawlence

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Roots of Change

The Web of Meaning: Integrating Science and Traditional Wisdom to Find Our Place in the Universe by Jeremy Lent

Issue 328 • September/October 2021 > Reviews > The Crossroads of Wonder and Despair

Three Podcasts with different world views by

Issue 330 • January/February 2022 > Reviews > Listen Up!

We Have a Dream by Mya-Rose Craig

Issue 331 • March/April 2022 > Reviews > An Anthem for Climate Justice

Who Cares Wins by Lily Cole

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > Who Cares Who Wins?

Why Rebel by Jay Griffiths

Issue 328 • September/October 2021 > Regulars > Letters to the Editors > Letters to the Editor

Wir konnten auch anders: Eine kurze Geschichte der Nachhaltigkeit by Jane Riddiford

Issue 329 • November/December 2021 > Reviews > Sustainability - Medieval Style

Go to older reviews.

The Resurgence Trust is an educational charity (Charity Number: 1120414) that publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine, Resurgence.org, ResurgenceEvents.org and the Ecologist.org to promote ecological sustainability, social justice and spiritual values.

Donate | Sign in | Help with my account and signing in

© The Resurgence Trust | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | GDPR | Sitemap | Contact Us