Share this page

Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

Key

Free for all to view

Free for members to view

Not available

Earthed by Rebecca Schiller

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > Soil and Soul

Finding the Mother Tree: Uncovering the Wisdom and Intelligence of the Forest by Suzanne Simard

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > Talking Trees

How to Avoid a Climate Disaster: The Solutions We Have and the Breakthroughs We Need by Bill Gates

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > A Billionaire's Take

Land: How the Hunger for Ownership Shaped the Modern World by Simon Winchester

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > Lust for Land

Make It Happen: How to Be an Activist by Amika George

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > A Guide to Success

Parents for a Future by Rupert Read

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > A Big Ask

The Care Crisis: What Caused It and How Can We End It? by Emma Dowling

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > Care Under Capitalism

Who Cares Wins by Lily Cole

Issue 327 • July/August 2021 > Reviews > Who Cares Who Wins?

Reviews from the past year

A Small Farm Future: Making the Case for a Society Built Around Local Economies, Self-Provisioning, Agriculutural Diversity and a Shared Earth by Chris Smaje

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Seeds of Resilience

A Spell in the Wild: A Spell in the Wild: A Year (and Six Centuries) of Magic by Alice Tarbuck

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Magic for Strange Times

A Still Life: A Memoir by Joise George

Issue 326 • May/June 2021 > Reviews > Small, Wonderful World

A Wild Love for the World: Joanna Macy and the Work of Our Time by Stephanie Kaza (ed)

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > Celebrating a Great American Tradition

Amber Waves: The Extraordinary Biography of Wheat from Wild Grass to World Megacrop by Catherine Zabinski

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Grain of Truth

Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teaching of Plants by Robin Wall Kimmerer

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Between Science and Knowledge

Communities of Hope: Discovering the Ecovillages of Europe by Diego Ruiz Hidalgo and Lou Salomon

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Ecovillage People

Competition is Killing Us: How Big Business is Harming Our Society and Planet - and What To Do About It by Michelle Meager

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > A Question of Power

Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures by Merlin Sheldrake

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Magic Mushrooms

Exploring Degrowth: A Critical Guide by Vincent Liegey and Anitra Nelson

Issue 326 • May/June 2021 > Reviews > Growing Pains

Fifty Words for Snow by Nancy Campbell

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > The Last Word

Film Review: Swarm Season by Sarah Christman

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Nature Cure

Free, Fair and Alice: The Insurgent Power of the Commons by David Bollier | Silke Helfrich

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > All is One

From What If to What Next: Podcast by Rob Hopkins

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > The Power of Reimagination

Gandhi the Organiser: How He Shaped a Nationwide Rebellion, India 1915-1922 by Bob Overy

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > How to Build a Movement

Global Hive: What the Bee Crisis Teaches Us about Building a Sustainable World by Horst Kornberger

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Voice of a Generation

Hope in Hell: A Decade to Confront the Climate Emergency by Jonathon Porritt

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > A Useful Guide to Hope

How They Made Us Doubt Everything by Peter Pomerantsev

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Stalling for Profit

How to Disagree: Negotiating Difference in a Divided World by Adam Ferner and Darren Chetty

Issue 326 • May/June 2021 > Reviews > How Can We Agree?

Humankind: A Hopeful History by Rutger Bregman

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > A Kind of Hope

I Am Greta: B-Reel Films by Nathan Grossman

Issue 326 • May/June 2021 > Reviews > From the Beginning

Imperial Mud: The Fight for the Fens by James Boyce

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Rising Up From History

Islands of Abandonment: Life in the Post-human Landscape by Cal Flyn

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Brave New Future

Losing Eden: Why Our Minds Need the Wild by Lucy Jones

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Nature Cure

Our House Is on Fire: Scenes of a Family and a Planet in Crisis: Our House Is on Fire: Scenes of a Family and a Planet in Crisis by Malena and Beata Ernman, Svante and Greta Thunberg

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Voice of a Generation

Pandemic Solidarity: Mutual Aid During the Covid-19 Crisis by Marina Sitrin & Colectiva Sembrar (eds.)

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > Kindness Amid Crisis

Post-Growth Living: For an Alternative Hedonism by Kate Soper

Issue 326 • May/June 2021 > Reviews > Growing Pains

Riders on the Storm: The Climate Crisis and the Survival of Being by Alastair McIntosh

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > Guiding Spirit

Sand Talk: How Indigenous Thinking Can Save the World by Tyson Yunkaporta

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Between Science and Knowledge

See No Stranger: A Memoir and Manifesto of Revolutionary Love by Valarie Kaur

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > The Warrior Saint

Stone Talks by Alyson Hallett

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Listening to Rocks

Tales of Two Planets: Stories of Climate Change and Inequality in a Divided World by John Freeman

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Teaching Facts with New Stories

The Accidental Countryside: Hidden Havens for Britain's Wildlife by Stephen Moss

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > On The Verge

The Birds They Sang: Birds and People in Life and Art by Stanisław Łubieński

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Bird's Eye View

The Book of Trespass: Crossing the Lines That Divide Us by Nick Hayes

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Taking Back The Land

The Cost of Free Shipping: Amazon in the Global Economy by Jake Alimahomed-Wilson and Ellen Reese

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Taking on an Empire

The Fossil Woman: A Life of Mary Anning by Tom Sharpe

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > Mary Anning Rocks

The Life of the White Mare: Sobriety and Enchantment by Etain Addey

Issue 324 • January/February 2021 > Reviews > The Meaning of Sacrifice

The Lonely Century: Coming Together in a World That's Pulling Apart by Noreena Hertz

Issue 326 • May/June 2021 > Reviews > Home Alone

The Music of Time: Poetry in the Twentieth Century by Peter Abbs

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > In Defence of Eco-poetry

The Natural Health Service: What the Great Outdoors Can Do for Your Mind by Isabel Hardman

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Nature Cure

The Next Great Migration: The Story of Movement on a Changing Planet by Sonia Shah

Issue 326 • May/June 2021 > Reviews > Migration: A Climate Solution

The Reindeer Chronicles: And Other Inspiring Stories of Working with Nature to Heal the Earth by Judith D Schwartz

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > Brave New Future

The Self Delusion: The Surprising Science of How We Are Connected and Why That Matters by Tom Oliver

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > All is One

The Wild Silence by Raynor Winn

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Beyond the Path

Under the Stars: A Journey into Light: A Journey into Light by Matt Gaw

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > A Quest for Darkness

Vesper Flights by Helen MacDonald

Issue 325 • March/April 2021 > Reviews > H is For Humanity

Wanderland: A Search for Magic in the Landscape: Wanderland: A Search for Magic in the Landscape by Jini Reddy

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > The Spirit of the Land

White Riot by Rubika Shah

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Rock Against Racism

Go to older reviews.

The Resurgence Trust is an educational charity (Charity Number: 1120414) that publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine, Resurgence.org, ResurgenceEvents.org and theEcologist.org to promote ecological sustainability, social justice and spiritual values.

Donate | Sign in | Help with my account and signing in

© The Resurgence Trust | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | GDPR | Sitemap | Contact Us