Book reviews

We present a selection of our reviews covering significant, groundbreaking books and films that are often ignored by the mainstream media. The reviews include those that have been published in the magazine and additional reviews that for reasons of space we were unable to publish in the magazine.

Reviews from the past year are shown below. Older reviews are listed separately. Reviews can also be located through our article archive search facility.

Latest Reviews

Communities of Hope: Discovering the Ecovillages of Europe by Diego Ruiz Hidalgo and Lou Salomon

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Ecovillage People

Humankind: A Hopeful History by Rutger Bregman

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > A Kind of Hope

Imperial Mud: The Fight for the Fens by James Boyce

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Rising Up From History

Stone Talks by Alyson Hallett

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Listening to Rocks

Tales of Two Planets: Stories of Climate Change and Inequality in a Divided World by John Freeman

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Teaching Facts with New Stories

The Book of Trespass: Crossing the Lines That Divide Us by Nick Hayes

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Taking Back The Land

White Riot by Rubika Shah

Issue 323 • November/December 2020 > Reviews > Rock Against Racism

Reviews from the past year

A History of the World in 21 Women : A Personal Selection by Jenni Murray

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Herstory, Not History

Amber Waves: The Extraordinary Biography of Wheat from Wild Grass to World Megacrop by Catherine Zabinski

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Grain of Truth

Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teaching of Plants by Robin Wall Kimmerer

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Between Science and Knowledge

Climate Psychology: On Indifference to Disaster by Paul Hoggett

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Out of The Comfort Zone

Dancing With Bees: A Journey Back to Nature by Brigit Strawbridge Howard

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Bee Inspired

Emperors, Admirals & Chimney Sweepers: The Weird and Wonderful Names of Butterflies and Moths by Peter Marren

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Rejoice in Insects

Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures by Merlin Sheldrake

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Magic Mushrooms

Film Review: Swarm Season by Sarah Christman

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Nature Cure

Film Review: Swarm Season by Sarah Christman

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Migrations in Space

Free, Fair and Alice: The Insurgent Power of the Commons by David Bollier | Silke Helfrich

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > All is One

Free, Fair and Alice: The Insurgent Power of the Commons by David Bollier | Silke Helfrich

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > The Common Good

From What If to What Next: Podcast by Rob Hopkins

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > The Power of Reimagination

Gandhi the Organiser: How He Shaped a Nationwide Rebellion, India 1915-1922 by Bob Overy

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > How to Build a Movement

Global Hive: What the Bee Crisis Teaches Us about Building a Sustainable World by Horst Kornberger

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Voice of a Generation

Global Hive: What the Bee Crisis Teaches Us about Building a Sustainable World by Horst Kornberger

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Ecolibrium

Green and Prosperous Land: A Blueprint for Rescuing the British Countryside by Dieter Helm

Issue 318 • January/February 2020 > Reviews > Putting a Price on Nature

How to Save the World for Free by Natalie Fee

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Flying The Green Flag

Invasive Aliens: The Plants and Animals From Over There That Are Over Here by Dan Eatherley

Issue 318 • January/February 2020 > Reviews > Going Native

Letters to the Earth: Writing to a Planet in Crisis by Jackie Morris

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Love Mail

Life at Walnut Tree Farm by Rufus Deakin

Issue 317 • November/December 2019 > Reviews > The House that Roger Built

Living Well at Others' Expense: The Hidden Cost of Western Prosperity by Stephan Lessenich

Issue 317 • November/December 2019 > Reviews > The Cost of Living Well

Local Is Our Future: Steps to an Economics of Happiness: Steps to an Economics of Happiness by Helena Norberg-Hodge

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Interdependence is a Beautiful Thing

Losing Eden: Why Our Minds Need the Wild by Lucy Jones

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Nature Cure

Mothers of Invention: a podcast by Mary Robinson by Mary Robinson

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Man-made Crisis, Feminist Solutions

Never Home Alone: From Microbes to Millipedes, Camel Crickets, and Honeybees, the Natural History of Where We Live by Rob Dunn

Issue 318 • January/February 2020 > Reviews > Your House is a Jungle

Novacene: The Coming Age of Hyperintelligence by James Lovelock

Issue 317 • November/December 2019 > Reviews > The Next Evolutionary Step

Of Fish and Foe by Heike Bachelier & Andy Heathcote

Issue 317 • November/December 2019 > Reviews > On the Hook

On Fire: The Burning Case for a Green New Deal by Naomi Klein

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > There Is Nothing We Cannot Achieve

One Planet Cities': Sustaining Humanity within Planetary Limits by David Thorpe

Issue 317 • November/December 2019 > Reviews > A Call to the Imagination

Organicity: Entropy or Evolution by David Dobereiner

Issue 317 • November/December 2019 > Web Exclusives > Review > A Different Understanding of Ourselves

Our House Is on Fire: Scenes of a Family and a Planet in Crisis: Our House Is on Fire: Scenes of a Family and a Planet in Crisis by Malena and Beata Ernman, Svante and Greta Thunberg

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Voice of a Generation

Pilgrimage: A Journey to Love Island by Jay Ramsay

Issue 317 • November/December 2019 > Web Exclusives > Review > Steps In The Sand

Poached: Inside the Dark World of Wildlife Trafficking by Rachel Love Nuwer

Issue 317 • November/December 2019 > Reviews > Hunter and Hunted

Sustainababble by

Issue 317 • November/December 2019 > Reviews > A Bit of Banter Goes A Long Way

Sand Talk: How Indigenous Thinking Can Save the World by Tyson Yunkaporta

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Between Science and Knowledge

Surfacing by Kathleen Jamie

Issue 317 • November/December 2019 > Reviews > The Bond of Memory

The Accidental Countryside: Hidden Havens for Britain's Wildlife by Stephen Moss

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > On The Verge

The Birds They Sang: Birds and People in Life and Art by Stanisław Łubieński

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Bird's Eye View

The Divided Brain by Manfred Becker

Issue 318 • January/February 2020 > Reviews > Two Brains Are Better Than One

The Enchantment of the Long-haired Rat: A Rodent History of Australia by Tim Bonyhady

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Web Exclusives > Review > Of Rats and Men

The Fate of Food: What We'll Eat in a Bigger, Hotter, Smarter World by Amanda Little

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Food Futures

The Hidden World of the Fox by Adele Brand

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Essence of Fox

The House Without Windows by Barbara Newhall Follett and Jackie Morris

Issue 318 • January/February 2020 > Reviews > Celebrating 'Old Nature Writing'

The Music of Time: Poetry in the Twentieth Century by Peter Abbs

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > In Defence of Eco-poetry

The Natural Health Service: What the Great Outdoors Can Do for Your Mind by Isabel Hardman

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > Nature Cure

The Outermost House: A Year of Life on the Great Beach of Cape Cod by Harry Beston

Issue 318 • January/February 2020 > Reviews > Celebrating 'Old Nature Writing'

The Self Delusion: The Surprising Science of How We Are Connected and Why That Matters by Tom Oliver

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > All is One

The Wild Silence by Raynor Winn

Issue 322 • September/October 2020 > Reviews > Beyond the Path

This Land is Our Land by Jedediah Purdy

Issue 320 • May/June 2020 > Reviews > Reshaping The World

Thomas Berry: A Biography by

Issue 318 • January/February 2020 > Reviews > What is Good For the Meadow

Under the Stars: A Journey into Light: A Journey into Light by Matt Gaw

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > A Quest for Darkness

Wanderland: A Search for Magic in the Landscape: Wanderland: A Search for Magic in the Landscape by Jini Reddy

Issue 321 • July/August 2020 > Reviews > The Spirit of the Land

We Are The Weather: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast by Jonathan Safran Foer

Issue 318 • January/February 2020 > Reviews > Eating for a Cooler Planet

We Made a Wildflower Meadow by Yvette Verner

Issue 319 • March/April 2020 > Reviews > Leading the Field

Go to older reviews.

Share this page

The Resurgence Trust is an educational charity that publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine, Resurgence.org and theEcologist.org to promote ecological sustainability, social justice and spiritual values. Read our vision statement

© The Resurgence Trust | Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Help with my account and signing in | Sitemap | Contact Us

The Resurgence Trust publishes Resurgence & Ecologist magazine. Registered Charity Number: 1120414